uncluttered soul

finding peace in the midst of chaos

Woken Only By Your Sound

I took a trip back in time tonight. I don’t know where it came from, but I peacefully eased in to some of my favorite  music from the seventies. It all started when I heard a new song on the cable jazz station by Larry Carlton and Tak Matsumoto, from their new album Take Your Pick.

Music  soothes my soul in a way that is rarely matched.

At what I consider my favorite live concert of all time I found myself with arms resting on center stage, a few close friends nearby, as Wishbone Ash followed Robin Trower and ZZ Top at The Hollywood Palladium, 1973.

Many years later I won’t bore you with emotional comments about some of my favorite songs. I don’t wish to get in the way of any adventure music may present to you. Suffice it to say that they stirred a part of me, still do, and though my musical retreats these days predominately feature the Saxophone, I still enjoy the Guitars and Keyboards of the 70’s.

So, here is a sampler. Seventeen of my all time favorite songs, in no particular order. I found a few hours tonight to do nothing but revisit them, live again in the moments, and remember best friends that are an unforgettable part of my life.

Though the music transports me back in time, every moment gives new life to an appreciation of musical creativity. I thankfully savor each one.

I hope you find some time yourself to revisit some of your favorite tunes. I’m sure you have many.

***

Wishbone Ash > Leaf And Stream

Uriah Heep > Easy Livin’

Be Bop Deluxe > Crying To The Sky

David Bowie > Moonage Daydream

Genesis > Firth Of Fifth

PFM > Four Holes In The Ground

CSN&Y > Southern Man

America > Rainy Day

ELP > Lucky Man

Robin Trower > Day Of The Eagle

Rory Gallagher > Bullfrog Blues

Led Zeppelin > Stairway To Heaven

Jethro Tull > Locomotive Breath

Santana > Samba Pa’ Ti

Jimi Hendrix > All Along The Watchtower

Cat Stevens > Where Do The Children Play?

Traffic > 40,000 Headmen

***

There is much beauty in sharing. Life gives freely to anyone who cares to partake.

Partake. Enjoy. Relish adventure.

There is always enough time.

You never know where it may lead.

Revisiting the 70’s led me to an incredible young talent named Tallan Noble Latz.

May 11, 2011 - Posted by | thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

